ASET-NSW Secretary's and Membership Secretary's Annual Report 2015-2016

ASET-NSW Inc. Committee as stated in the constitution consists of members from all three education sectors. The Committee as from the 2015 AGM is as shown below:

- Margaret Croucher, LaSalle Catholic College, Bankstown (Catholic Sector), Chairperson/Public officer
- Cathryn Brown, St Joseph's College, Hunters Hill (Independent sector), Vice Chairperson
- Wendy Cottee, Sydney Grammar School, Darlinghurst (Independent sector), Treasurer
- Julie Wells, Aquinas Catholic College, Menai (Catholic sector), Secretary
- Catherine Mullen, Kogarah High School, Kogarah (State sector), Minute's Secretary
- Tracey King, Castle Hill High School, Lane Cove (State sector)
- Rhonda O'Grady, All Saints Catholic College, Liverpool (Catholic Sector)

Rhonda O'Grady has since resigned due to changes in her work situation which in accordance with the Constitution made her membership unattainable.

The committee meets every three months and also for informal organisational meetings involving PD.

As at the 30th June 2015 we had 142 members from all parts of the state.

The table below shows the breakdown for the current membership:

	As of 27/07/2016
N° Members	142
N° DET schools	35
N° Catholic Schools	61
N° Independent Schools	46

N° from Sydney	46
N° from South Western Sydney	14
N° from Western Sydney	25
N° from Nth Sydney	16
Total from Greater Sydney area	101
N° from Western NSW	9
N° from Nth Coast	2
N° from Hunter/Central Coast	12
N° from New England	10
N° from Riverina	1
N° from Illawarra & Sth Coast	7
N° from ACT	0
Total from area other than Sydney	41

Document B/3

This year we have introduced a new website that we hope will be easier to navigate plus something where the individual member can control their own profile and financial status. It is still in its infancy and any glitches may still need to be ironed out.

We will have held four PD events this year, two in regional areas of Booragul and recently Dubbo and two in the Sydney region ending with the annual PD at Sydney Grammar School.

The attendance at these events is always well represented. The commitment of the Laboratory Technicians in the Education sector to learning is fantastic and hopefully recognised in the schools they represent.

Last year we had a change to half of the Committee after the 2015 AGM with the inclusion of Cathryn Brown, Tracey King and Rhonda O'Grady. Unfortunately Rhonda had to resign during the year. I would like to publicly thank her for her willingness to be involved and hope that if her circumstances change in the future she can be involved again.

Again I would like to personally thank the Committee for maintaining a committed and professional attitude for the members of ASET.

As per the Constitution the Committee members can only serve four years and now need to stand down for re-election and as per the Transition rules that were introduced and instigated at the 2015 AGM, the remaining three members of the original Committee will stand down this year. This year Margaret Croucher, Julie Wells and Catherine Mullen will stand down and hopefully renominate.

With this in mind I would also like to encourage our members to become more active in the Association and come on board and nominate to serve on the Committee. We really would like to hear from any of the members who would like to get involved and hopefully keep the Association running.

Support is always there and teamwork is the crux of any good Association.

My thanks to all the fantastic people I have had the privilege to work alongside during my time as Secretary since 2011 particularly the ASET Committee in all its forms, but I would like to highlight Margaret Croucher for her amazing leadership and tenacity. ASET-NSW Inc. would not exist without her.

Laboratory Technicians are amazing!

Thank you to everyone

Julie Wells Secretary ASET-NSW Inc. 2011 -2016